All Items by Source

Books

Journals/Magazines

Academic Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Source Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
note: Academic Source Premier
British Library for Development Studies. Restricted Resource
The largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe, with over half originating from developing countries. 
note: Seek HINARI user name and password from library to access some full-text.
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. 


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Emerald Restricted Resource Some full text available
Emerald  Publishing is a leading scholarly publisher of journals. It features 140 journals on aspects of management, marketing, library and information science, engineering, linguistics and heath care management.
Gale - Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.  Features Economics, Education, History, Political Science,  African Studies, Music, Business, Language & Literature.
note: JSTOR
MasterFile Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Microsoft academic search
Find information about academic papers, authors, conferences, journals, and organizations from multiple sources
Oxford Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Oxford Journals publishes journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines.
Palgrave Macmillan Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
NPG Palgrave Macmillan offer a combined portfolio of over 70 peer-reviewed e-journals. Subjects covered include business and management, economics, education, information systems and technolgoy, political science and international studies, social and cultural studies and urban design and architecture.
 
note: NPG Palgrave Macmillan
Science Direct Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading publisher of journals and ebooks in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
 
note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Springer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Springer is one of the leading international scientific publishing companies. Springers eJournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
Taylor and Francis Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Taylor and Francis publishes more  than 1,300
journal titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.  An authoritative multi-disciplinary publisher with wide scope.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Merriam-Webster's database contains 225,000 entries, including more than 10,000 new words and definitions.  Accessible from Encyclopedia Britannica.
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) features 600,000 words … 3 million quotations … and over 1000 years of English.  It  is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language with unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation.

As a historical dictionary, the OED  will give you he history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations.


Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
PQDT Open Some full text available
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open enables full text search and retrieval of dissertations and thesis published by Proquest UMI  under open access.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

SU ExamBank Restricted Resource Some full text available

Find full-text master's theses from Strathmore University for Master of Commerce, Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Computer Based Information Systems and Master of Science in Information Systems.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
Halsbury's Law Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
Accessed from Lexis Nexis, Halsbury's Law index provides fast access to legislation, cases and commentary from respected titles such as Halsbury’s Laws of England.
 
note: Seek user name and password from library to access. HINARI
MyiLibrary (Taylor and Francis Ebooks) Restricted Resource Some full text available


Access 1,160 ebooks from Taylor and Francis on multidisciplinary subjects.
note: My ILibrary
SourceOECD Restricted Resource Some full text available
OECD is the world's largest think-tank, renowned for its authoritative, internationally comparable statistics, analysis, and outlooks in Economics, Public Policy, Social Sciences and Environmental issues. Features the OECD ILibrary.  Features ebooks, data and ejournals.
note: OECD ILibrary

Primary Sources

General Case Digest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Lexis Nexis' General Case Digest is a  large collection of legal information, covering primarily American, English, European and international legal material provided by Lexis Nexis.
 
note: Seek user name and password from library to access. HINARI

Statistics/Data

Africa Development Indicators Some full text available
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Global Development Finance Online (GDF) Some full text available
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2009, for most reporting countries.
Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) Some full text available
The  Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) is a project of the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics that provides datasets from census, demographic and health surveys, labour force surveys and Kenya Ingegrated Budget Household Surveys.
Kenya Data Portal

Kenya Data At-a-Glance
World Development Indicators Online Some full text availableopenURL

WDI Online
is the premier data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data, development indicators, and time series data for over 220 countries and country groups.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chepkwony Raymond

Chepkwony Raymond
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2421

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files