All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Source Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
note: Academic Source Premier
Africa Portal Some full text available Resource contains images
An online resource for policy related issues in Africa. Over  3000 books, journals, and digital documents related to African policy issues.
Beech Tree Publishing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Beech Tree publishes three international, peer-reviewed academic journals, focusing on universities and government. They are all on public policy for science and technology, research, or environmental, social, health and other impacts. All are available and searchable online at IngentaConnect
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Emerald Restricted Resource Some full text available
Emerald  Publishing is a leading scholarly publisher of journals. It features 140 journals on aspects of management, marketing, library and information science, engineering, linguistics and heath care management.
Eric Restricted Resource Some full text available

ERIC,
the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Gale - Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.  Features Economics, Education, History, Political Science,  African Studies, Music, Business, Language & Literature.
note: JSTOR
Palgrave Macmillan Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
NPG Palgrave Macmillan offer a combined portfolio of over 70 peer-reviewed e-journals. Subjects covered include business and management, economics, education, information systems and technolgoy, political science and international studies, social and cultural studies and urban design and architecture.
 
note: NPG Palgrave Macmillan
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE provides online access to almost 500 full-text journals from 140 non-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences.

Subjects covered include African Studies, Anthropology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Classics, Cultural Studies, Economics, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, Folklore History
International Relations Language and Linguistics, Library Science and Publishing, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Politics and Policy Studies, Religion and Sociology

 
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 630 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 245 learned societies and institutions.
Science Direct Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading publisher of journals and ebooks in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
 
note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Springer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Springer is one of the leading international scientific publishing companies. Springers eJournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
Taylor and Francis Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Taylor and Francis publishes more  than 1,300
journal titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.  An authoritative multi-disciplinary publisher with wide scope.
University of Chicago Press Restricted Resource Some full text available
The University of Chicago Press publishes nearly fifty scholarly journals, many on behalf of some of the world's most prestigious societies, and several that were the first scholarly publications in their respective fields. The journals present original research in the social sciences, humanities, education, and biological and physical sciences.

Journals now provided under the JSTOR platform.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Symposium Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Symposium Journals is a pioneer in the publication of online-only academic journals.  Publishes journals in areas of education and early childhood.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Merriam-Webster's database contains 225,000 entries, including more than 10,000 new words and definitions.  Accessible from Encyclopedia Britannica.
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) features 600,000 words … 3 million quotations … and over 1000 years of English.  It  is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language with unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation.

As a historical dictionary, the OED  will give you he history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations.


Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
PQDT Open Some full text available
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open enables full text search and retrieval of dissertations and thesis published by Proquest UMI  under open access.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
MyiLibrary (Taylor and Francis Ebooks) Restricted Resource Some full text available


Access 1,160 ebooks from Taylor and Francis on multidisciplinary subjects.
note: My ILibrary
World Bank eLibrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Banks subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers on among others, development, poverty, governance, gender, environment and industry.
 

Statistics/Data

Africa Development Indicators Some full text available
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) Some full text available
The  Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) is a project of the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics that provides datasets from census, demographic and health surveys, labour force surveys and Kenya Ingegrated Budget Household Surveys.
Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) Some full text available
The  Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) is a project of the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics that provides datasets from census, demographic and health surveys, labour force surveys and Kenya Ingegrated Budget Household Surveys.
Kenya Data Portal

Kenya Data At-a-Glance
Kenya Socio-Economic Database (KenInfo) Some full text available
KenInfo has 206 indicators on grouped into sectors namely; Communication, Demography, Economic growth, Economy, Education, Environment, Equity and Poverty Reduction, Governance, Health, Information and Communication, Nutrition, Protection and Women.
World Development Indicators Online Some full text availableopenURL

WDI Online
is the premier data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data, development indicators, and time series data for over 220 countries and country groups.
Subject Specialist
Featured Books

Loading ...

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files