All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Restricted Resource Some full text available
The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
note: ATLA Religion Database
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Gale - Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
MasterFile Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Microsoft academic search
Find information about academic papers, authors, conferences, journals, and organizations from multiple sources
New Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource

New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.


Old Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource

Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.


Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE provides online access to almost 500 full-text journals from 140 non-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences.

Subjects covered include African Studies, Anthropology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Classics, Cultural Studies, Economics, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, Folklore History
International Relations Language and Linguistics, Library Science and Publishing, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Politics and Policy Studies, Religion and Sociology

 
Religion and Philosophy Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available

Religion & Philosophy Collection™provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies


Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 630 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 245 learned societies and institutions.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Springer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Springer is one of the leading international scientific publishing companies. Springers eJournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
Taylor and Francis Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Taylor and Francis publishes more  than 1,300
journal titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.  An authoritative multi-disciplinary publisher with wide scope.
University of Chicago Press Restricted Resource Some full text available
The University of Chicago Press publishes nearly fifty scholarly journals, many on behalf of some of the world's most prestigious societies, and several that were the first scholarly publications in their respective fields. The journals present original research in the social sciences, humanities, education, and biological and physical sciences.

Journals now provided under the JSTOR platform.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Online database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 436,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers
note: Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Merriam-Webster's database contains 225,000 entries, including more than 10,000 new words and definitions.  Accessible from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
PQDT Open Some full text available
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open enables full text search and retrieval of dissertations and thesis published by Proquest UMI  under open access.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
MyiLibrary (Taylor and Francis Ebooks) Restricted Resource Some full text available


Access 1,160 ebooks from Taylor and Francis on multidisciplinary subjects.
note: My ILibrary
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chepkwony Raymond

Chepkwony Raymond
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2421

Keep Current

Loading ...

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files