All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Computer security crytography Some full text available
E resources on computer security and cryptography from SpringerLink database.

IEEE Xplore Restricted Resource Some full text available

The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.

IEEE Xplore provides Web access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
 


note: IEEE Xplore
Research Articles on Python Programming Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search results for 'python programming'  from SpringLink database


Smartphone web development Some full text available
E resources on computer security and cryptography from SpringerLink database.

Web Sites

Windows Mobile Programming Some full text available
SpringerLink results for Windows Mobile programming

Android Developer Forum Some full text availableopenURL
Android powers hundreds of millions of mobile devices in more than 190 countries around the world. It's the largest installed base of any mobile platform and growing fast—every day another million users power up their Android devices for the first time and start looking for apps, games, and other digital content.
Communication commision of Kenya Some full text available

The Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK) is the regulatory authority for the communications sector in Kenya.

Established in 1999 by the Kenya Communications Act (KCA) No. 2 of 1998, CCK’s initial mandate was regulation of the telecommunications and postal/courier sub-sectors, and the management of the country’s radiofrequency spectrum.

In recognition of the rapid changes and developments in technology which have blurred the traditional distinctions between telecommunications, Information Technology (IT) and broadcasting, the Government in January 2009 enacted the Kenya Communications (Amendment) Act 2009.  This statute enhanced the regulatory scope and jurisdiction of CCK, and effectively transformed it to a converged regulator.

CCK is now responsible for facilitating the development of the information and communications sectors (including broadcasting, multimedia, telecommunications and postal services) and electronic commerce.


International engineering consortium Some full text available
In 1944, the IEC was founded as a nonprofit organization sponsored by universities and engineering societies and became dedicated to continuing education for the U.S. electronics industry.

During its sixty years, the Consortium has experienced many changes: from the electronics industry to today's information industry; from a national focus to an international perspective; and from an initial base of engineers to a vast cross-section of engineers, managers, and executives.



Larger Cover Objective-C Pocket Reference
 

Objective-C is an exciting and dynamic approach to C-based object-oriented programming; it's the approach adopted by Apple as the foundation for programming under Mac OS X, a Unix-based operating system gaining wide acceptance among programmers and other technologists. Objective-C is easy to learn and has a simple elegance that is a welcome breath of fresh air after the abstruse and confusing C++. To help you master the fundamentals of this language, you'll want to keep the Objective-C Pocket Reference close at hand. This small book contains a wealth of valuable information to speed you over the learning curve.

In this pocket reference, author Andrew Duncan provides a quick and concise introduction to Objective-C for the experienced programmer. In addition to covering the essentials of Objective-C syntax, Andrew also covers important faces of the language such as memory management, the Objective-C runtime, dynamic loading, distributed objects, and exception handling.

O'Reilly's Pocket References have become a favorite among programmers everywhere. By providing important details in a succinct, well-organized format, these handy books deliver just what you need to complete the task at hand. When you've reached a sticking point in your work and need to get to a solution quickly, the new Objective-C Pocket Referenceis the book you'll want to have.


Mobile Device Security For Dummies
The information you need to avoid security threats on corporate mobile devices

Mobile devices have essentially replaced computers for corporate users who are on the go and there are millions of networks that have little to no security. This essential guide walks you through the steps for securing a network and building a bulletproof framework that will protect and support mobile devices in the enterprise. Featuring real-world case scenarios, this straightforward guide shares invaluable advice for protecting mobile devices from the loss of sensitive and confidential corporate information.

  • Provides a practical, fast-track approach to protecting a mobile device from security threats
  • Discusses important topics such as specific hacker protection, loss/theft protection, backing up and restoring data, and more
  • Offers critical advice for deploying enterprise network protection for mobile devices
  • Walks you through the advantages of granular application access control and enforcement with VPN

Business can be mobile without being vulnerable and Mobile Device Security For Dummies shows you how.


Mobilein Some full text available

MobileIN.com is dedicated to professionals engaged in the wireless and mobile communications profession, including product and service providers, infrastructure and software developers, consultants, researchers and analysts, and the investment community


Professional blackberry
 
  • BlackBerrys enable users to stay connected with wireless access to e-mail, calendars, and corporate data; they have a phone and a Web browser in addition to other wireless features
  • Written by a BlackBerry insider with assistance from Research in Motion, this book covers support topics ranging from setting up BlackBerry pilot programs to developing applications that let BlackBerry users access corporate data and systems remotely
  • Key topics include how to deploy BlackBerrys within the organization, how to create push applications to extend the functionality of BlackBerrys, and how to implement new features of the latest BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES) 4.0
  • Details rolling out BlackBerrys to users in an easy and controlled manner, planning for disaster recovery, and developing Web-based applications using mobile Web technology

Scottish qualifications authority (SQA) Some full text available

In our accreditation role, we accredit vocational qualifications that are offered across Scotland, including Scottish Vocational Qualifications and approve awarding bodies that wish to award them.

As an awarding body, we work with schools, colleges, universities, industry, and government, to provide high quality, flexible and relevant qualifications. We strive to ensure that our qualifications are inclusive and accessible to all, that they recognise the achievements of learners, and that they provide clear pathways to further learning or employment.


Almanacs & Yearbooks

Apple online documentation Some full text available
The documentation provides guided learning paths for thorough introductions to the topics, features, and capabilities that these resources describe.
Forum Nokia website
Documentations for developers from Nokia website

Java online documentation Some full text available
Oracle is shifting the complexity from IT, moving it out of the enterprise by engineering hardware and software to work together—in the cloud and in the data center. From servers and storage, to database and middleware, through applications, each layer of the stack comprises
best-of-breed products, and every product and layer is designed, optimized, and engineered to work together. Integrated, industry-specific solutions are engineered to address complex business processes for a wide range of industries. And when IT complexity is removed, enterprises
can focus on business innovation.

Mobile 3D game development
It is a good time to be a mobile game developer. Not only is there a large installed base of phones, but the development tools needed to develop for the platform are free. More than 350 million Java(TM) -enabled cell phones are in the hands of users throughout the world, making the Java Mobile platform the most disseminated video game capable platform on the planet. Until now, however, there has been limited technical information on how to develop these games, but with Mobile 3D Game Development: From Start to Market, you'll find everything you need to know. This hands-on, practical book teaches current game developers, 2D mobile developers, and new game developers how to develop your own commercial-quality 3D games for Java enabled mobile phones. Using Java(TM) ME and 3D API (M3G API), you'll work through the entire production process with an emphasis on the practical application of art production and programming techniques. The book guides you through the process of developing three complete games-- Space Busters, a multiplayer racer, and an FPS. For each game, all of the necessary steps needed to create a production-quality game are covered. And, within each chapter concepts are presented using a mixture of general theory with immediate application to the task of building the game. So if you want to get into the 3D game market, this is the resource that will get you started!
Mobile Device Management for Dummies Some full text available
The information you need to avoid security threats on corporate mobile devices

Mobile devices have essentially replaced computers for corporate users who are on the go and there are millions of networks that have little to no security. This essential guide walks you through the steps for securing a network and building a bulletproof framework that will protect and support mobile devices in the enterprise. Featuring real-world case scenarios, this straightforward guide shares invaluable advice for protecting mobile devices from the loss of sensitive and confidential corporate information.

  • Provides a practical, fast-track approach to protecting a mobile device from security threats
  • Discusses important topics such as specific hacker protection, loss/theft protection, backing up and restoring data, and more
  • Offers critical advice for deploying enterprise network protection for mobile devices
  • Walks you through the advantages of granular application access control and enforcement with VPN
Business can be mobile without being vulnerable and Mobile Device Security For Dummies shows you how
Objective-C Pocket Reference (pdf) Some full text available
 

Objective-C is an exciting and dynamic approach to C-based object-oriented programming; it's the approach adopted by Apple as the foundation for programming under Mac OS X, a Unix-based operating system gaining wide acceptance among programmers and other technologists. Objective-C is easy to learn and has a simple elegance that is a welcome breath of fresh air after the abstruse and confusing C++. To help you master the fundamentals of this language, you'll want to keep the Objective-C Pocket Reference close at hand. This small book contains a wealth of valuable information to speed you over the learning curve.

In this pocket reference, author Andrew Duncan provides a quick and concise introduction to Objective-C for the experienced programmer. In addition to covering the essentials of Objective-C syntax, Andrew also covers important faces of the language such as memory management, the Objective-C runtime, dynamic loading, distributed objects, and exception handling.

O'Reilly's Pocket References have become a favorite among programmers everywhere. By providing important details in a succinct, well-organized format, these handy books deliver just what you need to complete the task at hand. When you've reached a sticking point in your work and need to get to a solution quickly, the new Objective-C Pocket Referenceis the book you'll want to have.


Online blackberry documentation Some full text available
Find manuals, tutorials, help, videos, and samples to help you use your BlackBerry® products successfully.

Pybel: a Python wrapper for the OpenBabel cheminformatics toolkit Some full text available

Abstract

Background  

Scripting languages such as Python are ideally suited to common programming tasks in cheminformatics such as data analysis and parsing information from files. However, for reasons of efficiency, cheminformatics toolkits such as the OpenBabel toolkit are often implemented in compiled languages such as C++. We describe Pybel, a Python module that provides access to the OpenBabel toolkit.

Results  

Pybel wraps the direct toolkit bindings to simplify common tasks such as reading and writing molecular files and calculating fingerprints. Extensive use is made of Python iterators to simplify loops such as that over all the molecules in a file. A Pybel Molecule can be easily interconverted to an OpenBabel OBMol to access those methods or attributes not wrapped by Pybel.

Conclusion  

Pybel allows cheminformaticians to rapidly develop Python scripts that manipulate chemical information. It is open source, available cross-platform, and offers the power of the OpenBabel toolkit to Python programmers.


Python online documentation

These documents are generated from reStructuredText sources by Sphinx, a document processor specifically written for the Python documentation.

Development of the documentation and its toolchain takes place on the docs@python.org mailing list. We’re always looking for volunteers wanting to help with the docs, so feel free to send a mail there!

Many thanks go to:

  • Fred L. Drake, Jr., the creator of the original Python documentation toolset and writer of much of the content;
  • the Docutils project for creating reStructuredText and the Docutils suite;
  • Fredrik Lundh for his Alternative Python Reference project from which Sphinx got many good ideas.

See Reporting Bugs for information how to report bugs in this documentation, or Python itself.



Web applications security Some full text available
E resources on Web applications security from SpringerLink database.

wireless security Some full text available
E resources on wireless security from SpringerLink database

Recent Acquistions

Loading ...

Book Search
Subject Specialist
Picture: Kipruto Philip

Kipruto Philip
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2600