All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Cambridge Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Cambridge Journals
Online eatures 230 journal titles covering politics,  linguistics,social sciences, humanities, law, mathematics,science and medicine.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Gale - Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.  Features Economics, Education, History, Political Science,  African Studies, Music, Business, Language & Literature.
note: JSTOR
Microsoft academic search
Find information about academic papers, authors, conferences, journals, and organizations from multiple sources
Oxford Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Oxford Journals publishes journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE provides online access to almost 500 full-text journals from 140 non-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences.

Subjects covered include African Studies, Anthropology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Classics, Cultural Studies, Economics, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, Folklore History
International Relations Language and Linguistics, Library Science and Publishing, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Politics and Policy Studies, Religion and Sociology

 
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 630 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 245 learned societies and institutions.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Merriam-Webster's database contains 225,000 entries, including more than 10,000 new words and definitions.  Accessible from Encyclopedia Britannica.
Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) features 600,000 words … 3 million quotations … and over 1000 years of English.  It  is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language with unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation.

As a historical dictionary, the OED  will give you he history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations.


Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
Live Feeds


Subject Specialist
Picture: Chepkwony Raymond

Chepkwony Raymond
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2421

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files