All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Source Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
note: Academic Source Premier
Africa Portal Some full text available Resource contains images
An online resource for policy related issues in Africa. Over  3000 books, journals, and digital documents related to African policy issues.
Business Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images

The industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. 


DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Emerald Restricted Resource Some full text available
Emerald  Publishing is a leading scholarly publisher of journals. It features 140 journals on aspects of management, marketing, library and information science, engineering, linguistics and heath care management.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 630 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 245 learned societies and institutions.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Taylor and Francis Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Taylor and Francis publishes more  than 1,300
journal titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.  An authoritative multi-disciplinary publisher with wide scope.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) features 600,000 words … 3 million quotations … and over 1000 years of English.  It  is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language with unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation.

As a historical dictionary, the OED  will give you he history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations.


Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
World Bank eLibrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Banks subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers on among others, development, poverty, governance, gender, environment and industry.
 
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chibini Vincent

Chibini Vincent
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2400

Featured Books

Loading ...

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files