Law
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Source Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
note: Academic Source Premier
Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available
See the Annual Review of Law and Social Science, a publication that strives to enhance the understanding of the complex connections between law, culture, social structure, and society by focusing on social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors.
note: Annual Reviews
Cambridge Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available

Cambridge Journals
Online eatures 230 journal titles covering politics,  linguistics,social sciences, humanities, law, mathematics,science and medicine.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Gale - Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.  Features Economics, Education, History, Political Science,  African Studies, Music, Business, Language & Literature.
note: JSTOR
Mary Ann Liebert Restricted Resource Some full text available
Mary Ann Liebert is universally acknowledged for for provision authoritative peer-reviewed journals in the most promising areas of biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, and law.
note: Liebert Online
MasterFile Premier Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Oxford Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Oxford Journals publishes journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines.
Science Direct Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading publisher of journals and ebooks in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
 
note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Springer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Springer is one of the leading international scientific publishing companies. Springers eJournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) features 600,000 words … 3 million quotations … and over 1000 years of English.  It  is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language with unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation.

As a historical dictionary, the OED  will give you he history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations.


Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
Halsbury's Law Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
Accessed from Lexis Nexis, Halsbury's Law index provides fast access to legislation, cases and commentary from respected titles such as Halsbury’s Laws of England.
 
note: Seek user name and password from library to access. HINARI
MyiLibrary (Taylor and Francis Ebooks) Restricted Resource Some full text available


Access 1,160 ebooks from Taylor and Francis on multidisciplinary subjects.
note: My ILibrary

Primary Sources

General Case Digest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Lexis Nexis' General Case Digest is a  large collection of legal information, covering primarily American, English, European and international legal material provided by Lexis Nexis.
 
note: Seek user name and password from library to access. HINARI

Statistics/Data

Kenya Data Portal

Kenya Data At-a-Glance
Subject Specialist
Featured Books

Loading ...

Book Search
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files