Mathematics
All Items by Source

Books

Biomathematics
Mathematical and theoretical biology is an interdisciplinary scientific research field with a range of applications in biology, biotechnology, and medicine
Biostatistics Restricted Resource
The objective of Biostatistics is to advance statistical science and its application to problems of human health and disease, with the ultimate goal of advancing the public's health.
Statistical methods Restricted Resource
Methods of collecting, summarizing, analyzing, and interpreting variable numerical data. Statistical methods can be contrasted with deterministic methods, which are appropriate where observations are exactly reproducable or are assumed to be so.
Statistical Sciences Restricted Resource
A central purpose of Statistical Science is to convey the richness, breadth and unity of the field by presenting the full range of contemporary statistical thought at a modest technical level accessible to the wide community of practitioners, teachers, researchers and students of statistics and probability

Journals/Magazines

International Journal of Biomathematics Restricted Resource
The goal of this journal is to present the latest achievements in biomathematics, facilitate international academic exchanges and promote the development of biomathematics.
Mathematical Models and Methods in Applied Sciences Restricted Resource
The purpose of this journal is to provide a medium of exchange for scientists engaged in applied sciences (physics, mathematical physics, natural, and technological sciences) where there exists a non-trivial interplay between mathematics, mathematical modelling of real systems and mathematical and computer methods oriented towards the qualitative and quantitative analysis of real physical systems.
A computational approach to financial option pricing using Quasi Monte Carlo methods via variance reduction techniques Restricted Resource
In this paper, we consider two types of pricing option in financial markets using quasi Monte Carlo algorithm with variance reduction procedures. We evaluate Asian-style and European-style options pricing based on Black-Scholes model. Finally, some numerical results presented.
A Mathematical Journal Some full text available

Publisher: Universidad de La Frontera and Universidade Federal de Pernambuco

Country of publisher: Chile

Platform/Host/Aggregator: SciELO Chile

Date added to DOAJ: 15 May 2012


American Journal of Mathematical and Management Sciences Restricted Resource Some full text available
The American Journal of Mathematical and Management Sciences (AJMMS) offers a bridge between classical theory as well as new methodology in many areas of the mathematical and management sciences, and their real-life applications. It is committed to propagate novel ideas exploring theory and its applicability in (including but not limited to) business, industry, biology, health sciences, and education. Review articles on topics of current interest are also considered. 
An Introduction to Numerical Methods for the Solutions of Partial Differential Equations Restricted Resource
Partial differential equations arise in formulations of problems involving functions of several variables such as the propagation of sound or heat, electrostatics, electrodynamics, fluid flow, and elasticity, etc. The present paper deals with a general introduction and classification of partial differential equations and the numerical methods available in the literature for the solution of partial differential equations.
Annals of Pure and Applied Logic Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annals of Pure and Applied Logic publisheThe Annals of Pure and Applied Logic publishes papers and short monographs on topics of current interest in pure and applied logic, the foundations of mathematics and those areas of theoretical computer science and other disciplines which are of direct interest to mathematical logic. s papers and short monographs on topics of current interest in pure and applied logic, the foundations of mathematics and those areas of theoretical computer science and other disciplines which are of direct interest to mathematical logic.
Annual Review of Statistics and Its Application Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annual Review of Statistics and Its Application aims to inform statisticians, and users of statistics more broadly about major methodological advances and the computational tools that allow for their implementation.
Applied Mathematical Finance Restricted Resource Some full text available

The journal encourages the confident use of applied mathematics and mathematical modelling in finance. The journal publishes papers on the following:

  • modelling of financial and economic primitives (interest rates, asset prices etc);
  • modelling market behaviour;
  • modelling market imperfections;
  • pricing of financial derivative securities;
  • hedging strategies;
  • numerical methods;
  • financial engineering.

Applied Mathematical Modelling Restricted Resource Some full text available
Applied Mathematical Modelling is a monthly publication focusing on research related to the mathematical modelling of engineering and environmental processes, manufacturing, and industrial systems. A significant emerging area of research activity involves multiphysics processes, and contributions in this area are particularly encouraged.

This influential publication covers a wide spectrum of subjects including heat transfer, fluid mechanics, CFD, and transport phenomena; solid mechanics and mechanics of metals; electromagnets and MHD; reliability modelling and system optimization; finite volume, finite element, and boundary element procedures; decision sciences in an industrial and manufacturing context; civil engineering systems and structures; mineral and energy resources; relevant software engineering issues associated with CAD and CAE; and materials and metallurgical engineering.
Biostatistics Restricted Resource
The objective of Biostatistics is to advance statistical science and its application to problems of human health and disease, with the ultimate goal of advancing the public's health.
Electronic Journal of Probability Some full text available

Publisher: Institute of Mathematical Statistics

Country of publisher: United States

Platform/Host/Aggregator: Institute of Mathematical Statistics

Date added to DOAJ: 15 Oct 2003


Genetic and Genomic Healthcare: Ethical Issues of Importance to Nurses
The complete sequencing of the human genome in 2003 has opened doors for new approaches to health promotion, maintenance, and treatment. Genetic research is now leading to a better understanding of the genetic components of common diseases, such as cancer, diabetes, and stroke, and creating new, gene-based technologies for screening, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of both rare and common diseases. Nurses are on the forefront of care, and therefore will participate fully in genetic-based and genomic-based practice activities such as collecting family history, obtaining informed consent for genetic testing, and administering gene-based therapies. This new direction in healthcare calls for all nurses to be able to effectively translate genetic and genomic information to patients with an understanding of associated ethical issues. This article will present six genetic and genomic healthcare activities involving ethical issues of importance to nurses. For each activity discussed, an overview of current and/or emerging ethical issues will be presented. Approaches nurses can use to integrate comprehensive and current knowledge in genetics and genomics into their practice to most fully meet the needs of their patients, families, and society will also be described.
Global Journal of Mathematical Sciences Some full text available
Global Journal of Mathematical Sciences publishes research work in all areas of mathematical sciences and application at all levels including, but not limited to basic research leading to development of new theories, techniques and application to science, industry and society. The journal aims to promote the exchange of information and ideas between all classes of mathematicians and /or the rest of society.
International Journal of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science Some full text available
The International Journal of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science (AMCS) strives to meet the demand for the presentation of interdisciplinary research in various fields related to control theory, applied mathematics, scientific computing, and computer science.
International Journal of Infectious Diseases Restricted Resource
The International Journal of Infectious Diseases (IJID) is published monthly by the International Society for Infectious Diseases. IJID is a peer-reviewed, open access journal and publishes original clinical and laboratory-based research, together with reports of clinical trials, reviews, and some case reports dealing with the epidemiology, clinical diagnosis, treatment, and control of infectious diseases with particular emphasis placed on those diseases that are most common in under-resourced countries.
International Journal of Stochastic Analysis Restricted Resource
International Journal of Stochastic Analysis is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of stochastic analysis.
International Journal on Ecological Modelling and Systems Ecology Restricted Resource
The journal is concerned with the use of mathematical models and systems analysis for the description of ecological processes and for the sustainable management of resources.
ISRN Biomathematics

Publisher: Hindawi Publishing Corporation

Country of publisher: Egypt

Platform/Host/Aggregator: Hindawi Publishing Corporation

Date added to DOAJ: 24 Aug 2012


Journal of Applied Statistics Restricted Resource
Journal of Applied Statistics provides a forum for communication between both applied statisticians and users of applied statistical techniques across a wide range of disciplines. These areas include business, computing, economics, ecology, education, management, medicine, operational research and sociology, but papers from other areas are also considered. The editorial policy is to publish rigorous but clear and accessible papers on applied techniques. Purely theoretical papers are avoided but those on theoretical developments which clearly demonstrate significant applied potential are welcomed. The Journal aims for a balance of methodological innovation, thorough evaluation of existing techniques, case studies,speculative articles, book reviews and letters.
Journal of Biological Systems Restricted Resource
The Journal of Biological Systems is published quarterly. The goal of the Journal is to promote interdisciplinary approaches in Biology and in Medicine, and the study of biological situations with a variety of tools, including mathematical and general systems methods.
Journal of Business and Finance Restricted Resource
Journal of Business and Finance is an open access international journal. It is devoted to provide opportunities for original as well as extended versions of published researches.
Journal of Computational Neuroscience Restricted Resource
The Journal of Computational Neuroscience provides a forum for papers that fit the interface between computational and experimental work in the neurosciences.
Journal of Computational Systems Biology
Journal of Computational Systems Biology (JCSB) is an open access journal focusing on publishing research articles in all areas of Computational biology. JCSB also aims to serve the scientific community by exploring the ideas of the scientific researchers, it plays a key role in exposure of their reviewed articles through online for freely available to researchers worldwide.
Journal of Mathematical Finance

Journal of Mathematical Finance (JMF) aims at presenting the latest developments in pure and applied financial mathematics. It considers important theoretical , empirical and review papers.


Journal of Statistical Software
Established in 1996, the Journal of Statistical Software publishes articles, book reviews, code snippets, and software reviews on the subject of statistical software and algorithms.
Journal of Statistical Theory and Practice Restricted Resource
The  Journal of Statistical Theory and Practice is a broad-based journal encouraging submission of original research papers, significant review articles, and book reviews in statistical sciences. The journal also publishes editorials on "Life and Works" of eminent scholars. Special issues on targeted topics are published from time to time.
Journal of Theoretical Probability Restricted Resource
This multidisciplinary journal publishes high-quality, original papers in all areas of probability theory, including probability on semigroups, groups, vector spaces, other abstract structures, and random matrices.
Letters in Biomathematics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Letters in Biomathematics seeks high quality manuscripts that describe mathematical and statistical techniques to solve problems in biological settings or that address the study of the teaching and learning at the intersection of mathematics and biology.
Market microstructure and asset pricing: On the compensation for illiquidity in stock returns Restricted Resource
Models of price formation in securities markets suggest that privately informed investors create significant illiquidity costs for uninformed investors, implying that the required rates of return should be higher for securities that are relatively illiquid. We investigate the empirical relation between monthly stock returns and measures of illiquity obtained from intraday data. We find a significant relation between required rates of return and these measures after adjusting for the Fama and French risk factors, and also after accounting for the effects of the stock price level.
Math Horizons Restricted Resource
Math Horizons is intended primarily for undergraduates interested in mathematics
Mathematical Finance Restricted Resource Some full text available

Mathematical Finance is a high-quality journal which brings together work on the mathematical aspects of finance theory from such diverse fields as finance, economics, mathematics, and statistics. An essential resource for academic finance researchers and practitioners alike, the journal publishes clear and concise articles which present the latest theoretical developments in an accessible way. Modern finance is becoming increasingly technical, requiring the use of sophisticated mathematical tools in both research and practice. Mathematical Finance offers a forum for the publication of articles which employ these techniques, as well as providing a much-needed bridge between mathematical scientists and financial economists.


Mathematical Science

Mathematical Sciences is a peer-reviewed open access journal published under the brand SpringerOpen.

Mathematical Sciences is an international journal publishing original research articles that demonstrate the interaction between various disciplines of theoretical and applied mathematics. Subject areas include numerical analysis, numerical statistics, optimization, operational research, signal analysis, wavelets, image processing, fuzzy sets, spline, stochastic analysis, integral equation, differential equation, partial differential equation and combinations of the above.


Mathematics of Operations Research Restricted Resource
Mathematics of Operations Research (MOR) publishes excellent foundational articles having significant mathematical contents and relevance to operations research and management science.
Molecular Based Mathematical Biology Restricted Resource
MBMB emphasizes mathematical/quantitative  approaches to problems in molecular-level  biology. All mathematical approaches, including mathematical/theoretical modelling, numerical methods, computational algorithms, mathematical analysis, imaging and visualization techniques, are appropriate. This journal concerns all biological problems that are based on molecular-level mechanism, understanding, and description.
SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics Restricted Resource
SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics contains research articles on mathematical methods and their applications in the physical, engineering, financial, and life sciences.
South African Journal of Bioethics and Law
The South African Journal of Bioethics and Law is a bi-annual journal for health professionals dealing with bioethics, law, human rights and related topics
Statistical Methodology Restricted Resource

The Official Journal of the International Indian Statistical Association


Statistical Methods & Applications Restricted Resource
Statistical Methods and Applications (SMA) is the official Journal of the Italian Statistical Society. This international journal fosters the development of statistical methodology and its applications in biological, demographic, economic, health, physical, social, and other scientific domains.
Stochastics Restricted Resource Some full text available
An International Journal of Probability and Stochastic Processes  is a world-leading journal publishing research concerned with stochastic processes and their applications in the modelling, analysis and optimization of stochastic systems, i.e. processes characterized both by temporal or spatial evolution and by the presence of random effects.
The Journal of Modern Applied Statistical Methods Restricted Resource
The Journal of Modern Applied Statistical Methods is an independent, peer-reviewed, open access journal designed to provide an outlet for the scholarly works of applied nonparametric or parametric statisticians, data analysts, researchers, classical or modern psychometricians, quantitative or qualitative evaluators, and methodologists.
The Journal of Partial Differential Equations (JPDE) Restricted Resource
The Journal of Partial Differential Equations (JPDE) publishes high quality research papers and short communications in theory, applications and numerical analysis of partial differential equations.
The Mathematical Gazette Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Mathematical Gazette is the original journal of the Mathematical Association and it is now over a century old. Its readership is a mixture of school teachers, college and university lecturers, educationalists and others with an interest in mathematics.
The R journal
The R Journal is the open access, refereed journal of the R project for statistical computing

Almanacs & Yearbooks

Advances in Mathematics Restricted Resource Some full text available
Emphasizing contributions that represent significant advances in all areas of pure mathematics, Advances in Mathematics provides research mathematicians with an effective medium for communicating important recent developments in their areas of specialization to colleagues and to scientists in related disciplines.

Statistics/Data

Subject Specialist
Picture: Chepkwony Raymond

Chepkwony Raymond
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2421

Book Search
FAQs

There are no FAQs linked for this guide

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Table of Contents