All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Africa Portal Some full text available Resource contains images
An online resource for policy related issues in Africa. Over  3000 books, journals, and digital documents related to African policy issues.
Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available
Annual Reviews operates as a high quality filter, prioritizing and synthesizing the primary research literature in different disciplines for the Biomedical, Life, Physical and Social Sciences. AR Publications earn the highest impact factors year by year.
note: Annual Reviews
British Library for Development Studies. Restricted Resource
The largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe, with over half originating from developing countries. 
note: Seek HINARI user name and password from library to access some full-text.
CAB Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available

CAB Direct contains over 9 million bibliographic and full text applied life science and nutrition articles hand picked by a team of experts. Includes e-books.
note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
EBSCO Host Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL
Ebsco Host contains over 11,000 full text, peer-reviewed journals and over 15,000 abstracted and indexed titles. Access to 8 major databases: Academic Search Premier; Business Source Premier; ERIC; Masterfile Premier; Newspaper Source; Health Source : Nursing & Academic; Health Source : Consumer Edition; Medline.

Subject Strengths

  • Good coverage of most branches of social sciences and humanities.
  • Strong business coverage.
  • Strong nursing, medicine and allied health coverage.
  • Dedicated newspaper database, kept separate from peer-reviewed content.

note: Ebsco Host
Gale - Expanded Academic ASAP Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
GreenFile Restricted Resource Some full text available
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Source - Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.  Features Economics, Education, History, Political Science,  African Studies, Music, Business, Language & Literature.
note: JSTOR
Lyell Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Lyell Collection is an electronic resource containing new and archival journal, Special Publication and book content, published by the Geological Society of London. It contains key peer-reviewed Earth science literature of the highest quality.
note: Lyell Collection
Microsoft academic search
Find information about academic papers, authors, conferences, journals, and organizations from multiple sources
Palgrave Macmillan Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
NPG Palgrave Macmillan offer a combined portfolio of over 70 peer-reviewed e-journals. Subjects covered include business and management, economics, education, information systems and technolgoy, political science and international studies, social and cultural studies and urban design and architecture.
 
note: NPG Palgrave Macmillan
Royal Society Publishing Restricted Resource Some full text available
Royal Society Publishing platform provides access to journals, books and databases linking over 1,019,872 chemical science articles and chapters, enabling you to discover the highest quality integrated scientific research today - search faster, navigate smarter and connect more.

Royal Society of Chemistry features 37 full text journals spanning all branches of chemistry, plus a range of key databases in analytical chemistry, catalysts and catalysed reactions, organic synthesis and natural products plus its online series of specialist periodical reports, and a range of key databases.
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 630 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 245 learned societies and institutions.
Science Direct Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading publisher of journals and ebooks in physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
 
note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Scirus
Search over 410 million academic sites including author pages, courseware, patents, pre-prints and other resources.
Scopus Restricted Resource

Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with over 41 million records and sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.


note: Access from HINARI. Seek user name and password from library to access.
Springer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Springer is one of the leading international scientific publishing companies. Springers eJournals cover a wide range of subjects including biomedicine and the life sciences, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer sciences, human sciences, social sciences and economics.
Taylor and Francis Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Taylor and Francis publishes more  than 1,300
journal titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.  An authoritative multi-disciplinary publisher with wide scope.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Dictionaries

Merriam-Webster's Dictionary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Merriam-Webster's database contains 225,000 entries, including more than 10,000 new words and definitions.  Accessible from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) Some full text available
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Thesis can be searched using the Scirus ETD Search or the VTLS visualizer.
PQDT Open Some full text available
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open enables full text search and retrieval of dissertations and thesis published by Proquest UMI  under open access.
Scirus ETD Search Some full text available
Scirus ETD Search allows discovery of Electronic Thesis and Dissertations. Provides an advanced search for narrowing results.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
SourceOECD Restricted Resource Some full text available
OECD is the world's largest think-tank, renowned for its authoritative, internationally comparable statistics, analysis, and outlooks in Economics, Public Policy, Social Sciences and Environmental issues. Features the OECD ILibrary.  Features ebooks, data and ejournals.
note: OECD ILibrary
World Bank eLibrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Banks subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers on among others, development, poverty, governance, gender, environment and industry.
 

Statistics/Data

Africa Development Indicators Some full text available
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) Some full text available
The  Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) is a project of the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics that provides datasets from census, demographic and health surveys, labour force surveys and Kenya Ingegrated Budget Household Surveys.
Kenya Socio-Economic Database (KenInfo) Some full text available
KenInfo has 206 indicators on grouped into sectors namely; Communication, Demography, Economic growth, Economy, Education, Environment, Equity and Poverty Reduction, Governance, Health, Information and Communication, Nutrition, Protection and Women.
World Development Indicators Online Some full text availableopenURL

WDI Online
is the premier data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data, development indicators, and time series data for over 220 countries and country groups.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chepkwony Raymond

Chepkwony Raymond
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2421

Book Search
Featured Books

Loading ...

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files