All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Source Premier Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Academic Source Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
note: Academic Source Premier
Africa Portal Some full text available Resource contains images
An online resource for policy related issues in Africa. Over  3000 books, journals, and digital documents related to African policy issues.
British Library for Development Studies. Restricted Resource
The largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe, with over half originating from developing countries. 
note: Seek HINARI user name and password from library to access some full-text.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
A multi-disciplinary list of open access journals that allow free use and downloading.  Over 5000 journal titles searchable at article level.
Emerald Restricted Resource Some full text available
Emerald  Publishing is a leading scholarly publisher of journals. It features 140 journals on aspects of management, marketing, library and information science, engineering, linguistics and heath care management.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR is used by millions for research, teaching, and learning. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.  Features Economics, Education, History, Political Science,  African Studies, Music, Business, Language & Literature.
note: JSTOR
Microsoft academic search
Find information about academic papers, authors, conferences, journals, and organizations from multiple sources
Oxford Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Oxford Journals publishes journals from science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social science disciplines.
Project Muse Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE provides online access to almost 500 full-text journals from 140 non-profit publishers in the humanities and social sciences.

Subjects covered include African Studies, Anthropology, Art and Architecture, Asian Studies, Classics, Cultural Studies, Economics, Education, Film, Theater, and Performing Arts, Folklore History
International Relations Language and Linguistics, Library Science and Publishing, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Politics and Policy Studies, Religion and Sociology

 
Taylor and Francis Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available

Taylor and Francis publishes more  than 1,300
journal titles in humanities, social sciences and applied sciences.  An authoritative multi-disciplinary publisher with wide scope.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Directories

African Journals Online Some full text available
A directory of peer-reviewed journals published from Africa. Currently holds 411 journals in a range of multidisciplinary subjects.  (You need to register to access full text articles).
note: Register to download 3 free articles per month.

Dissertations

OpenThesis Some full text available
OpenThesis is a free repository of theses, dissertations, and other academic documents,  with  powerful search, organization, and collaboration tools.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica Restricted Resource Some full text availableopenURL Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio

A general knowledge encyclopedia featuring articles, images, videos and audios with thousands of articles.  Updated.

Handbooks & Guides

Ebrary Ebooks Restricted Resource Some full text available

An expansive ebook collection spanning all academic disciplines: business, technology, medicine and health, education, history, law, ethics, religion philsophy etc.
note: Ebrary Ebooks
MyiLibrary (Taylor and Francis Ebooks) Restricted Resource Some full text available


Access 1,160 ebooks from Taylor and Francis on multidisciplinary subjects.
note: My ILibrary

Statistics/Data

Africa Development Indicators Some full text available
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators on Africa, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) Some full text available
The  Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System(IMIS) is a project of the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics that provides datasets from census, demographic and health surveys, labour force surveys and Kenya Ingegrated Budget Household Surveys.
World Development Indicators Online Some full text availableopenURL

WDI Online
is the premier data source on the global economy. It contains statistical data, development indicators, and time series data for over 220 countries and country groups.
Subject Specialist
Picture: Chepkwony Raymond

Chepkwony Raymond
Librarian
Tel: 0703034 2421

Book Search

Loading ...

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files